Bronx

Monroe College's Bronx campus is an ideal urban campus located in the bustling Fordham section.

New Rochelle

Located in downtown New Rochelle, the Monroe College New Rochelle campus is nestled in a diverse, thriving suburban community in Westchester County.

St. Lucia

The scenic Monroe College St. Lucia campus in Barnard Hill Castries on the Caribbean island of St. Lucia combines the best of many worlds.

Queens

Monroe's Queens Extension Site is located in the heart of downtown Flushing, a vibrant and ethnically mixed district of Queens.

  • Bronx Campus Student Clubs

    Below is a listing of student clubs based on the Bronx campus, their meeting times and respective contact information for faculty and staff advisors. For any general club-related inquiries, please contact or visit the Student Activities office in King Hall on the Bronx campus:

    Edith Banks, Director, Student Activities
    Tel: (718) 933-6700, ext. 8732
    Email: ebanks@monroecollege.edu

    Joeane Birmingham, Coordinator, Student Activities
    Tel: (718) 933-6700, ext. 8594
    Email: jbirmingham@monroecollege.edu

  • Allied Heath Club

    Formed in 2008, the Allied Health Club includes students from a variety of majors, including public health, medical assisting, medical administration and health services administration. The Club’s mission is “to design, implement, and evaluate health education/health promotion programs in response to the priority needs of the Monroe College student population and the local Fordham community.” Reducing health disparities and improving the quality of life for Monroe students and community residents are of leading concern and accomplished through health-needs assessments, surveys of student health issues and identification of knowledge gaps. The Allied Health Club  constitution is available upon request. 

    Club meetings: Tuesdays at 12:00pm in West Hall 312

    For additional information, please email alliedhealthclubBX@monroecollege.edu or contact the advisor or any of the officers listed below: 

    Jessica Chabla, President
    Email: jchabla2322@monroecollege.edu 

    Leon Morton, Vice President
    Email: lmorton6995@monroecollege.edu 

    Joni-Kay Meads, Secretary
    Email: jmeads4366@monroecollege.edu

    Octavia Jackson, Treasurer
    Email: ojackson1508@monroecollege.edu

    Khadim Sanders, Event Coordinator
    Email: ksanders7963@monroecollege.edu

    ALPFA (Association of Latino Professionals in Finance and Accounting)

    ALPFA is a national nonprofit membership organization for Latino business professionals and students, with chapters nationwide and over 23,000 members. Founded in 1972, ALPFA is dedicated to enhancing opportunities for Latinos and building leadership and career skills. Membership is open to anyone who is interested in this mission. The Monroe College chapter welcomes the participation of students from all cultural backgrounds.

    Club meetings: Thursdays at 12:30pm in Ustin Hall, Rm 207

    For additional information, please email alpfabx@monroecollege.edu or contact the advisor or any of the officers listed below: 

    Kiandra Franklin, Vice President of Events
    Email: kfranklin6214@monroecollege.edu 

    Rafael Martinez, Assistant Secretary
    Email: rmartinez7573@monroecollege.edu

    Iliana Rozon Liz, Treasurer
    Email: irozon8932@monroecollege.edu

    Willy Nganjon Kamga, Vice President of Evening Events
    Email: wnganjonkamga9339@monroecollege.edu

    Kadheim Cooper, Webmaster/ Vice President of Communications
    Email: kcooper5755@monroecollege.edu

    Armando Solis
    Email: asolis9188@monroecollege.edu

    Amnesty International

    The Amnesty International Club at Monroe College is a student organization committed to creating greater awareness of both domestic and international human rights issues and abuses. We participate in campus activities to help stop such abuses. Some of the issues we fight against include the death penalty, genocide, sexual and physical abuse of women and children, rape in prison, bullying and poverty. 

    In addition to the Amnesty International website, other allied organizations and their respective websites include:

    MADRE: www.madre.org
    UNICEF: www.unicef.org
    ACLU: www.aclu.org

    Club Meetings: Tuesdays, 12:15pm in Jerome Hall, 612

    For additional information, please email amnestyinternational@monroecollege.edu or contact the advisor or any of the officers listed below:  

    Prof. Guylaine Harrison, Advisor
    Email: gharrison@monroecollege.edu

    Zuleysha Julien Redford, President 
    Email: zjulienredford7841@monroecollege.edu

    Djegnale Dioubate, Vice President 
    Email: ddioubate8704@monroecollege.edu

    Yarleene Monzon, Assistant Vice President
    Email: ymonzon7553@monroecollege.edu

    Jennifer Hendricks, Secretary
    Email: jhendricks5885@monroecollege.edu

    Book Club

    There is nothing stuffy, boring, or bland about this Book Club. Reading selections are based on interest of members, and vary from short to long term. The club welcomes members at all levels of literacy, provides critical feedback for aspiring authors, and connects reading to higher order thinking – all while having fun!

    Club Meetings: Tuesdays, 12:15 pm – 1:00 pm in King Hall 203.

    For additional information, please email or contact the advisor or any of the officers listed below:

    Yvette Powell, Advisor
    Email: ypowell@monroecollege.edu

    Elizabeth Smith, President
    Email: esmith1265@monroecollege.edu 

    Club for Entrepreneurial Opportunities (CEO)

    The goal of CEO is to bring together students regardless of major or background to expand their education outside the classroom and into the business world. CEO organizes career awareness fairs on campus as well as community events, sponsors guest speakers and field trips such as company tours and conferences, and provides numerous networking events for students. CEO is also dedicated to promoting unity and social responsibility in business. Though it is primarily a business-oriented club, CEO is open to all Monroe students. The CEO constitution is available upon request.

    Club meetings: Tuesdays at noon in Ustin Hall, Rm 111

    For additional information, including information about upcoming events, please email ceoclub@monroecollege.edu or contact the advisor or any of the officers listed below:  

    Ahmed Eshra, Advisor
    Email: aeshra@monroecollege.edu

    Naman Shah, President
    Email: nshah6168@monroecollege.edu

    Takeshia Bowens, Vice President
    Email: tbowens9103@monroecollege.edu

    Cristian Cantos, Secretary 
    Email: ccantos8212@monroecollege.edu

    Criminal Justice Club

    Learn about the criminal justice field through guest speakers, community involvement, exploration of various criminal justice organizations and field experiences. Students interested in criminal justice careers will benefit from heightened awareness of criminal justice issues, employment opportunities and preparatory assistance/mentorship from faculty who are experts in the field.

    Membership is open to all students who are in good academic standing. There are no fees or dues associated with the club. The only mandate is active participation which is fostered during bi-weekly meetings. The Criminal Justice Club constitution is available upon request. 

    Club meetings: Tuesdays, 12:15 pm in Jerome Hall, Rm 608

    For additional information, email gomadclub@monroecollege.edu or contact the advisor or any of the officers listed below

    Keith Singer, Advisor
    ksinger@monroecollege.edu

    Lucinda Roman, President
    Email: lroman0282@monroecollege.edu

    Brenda Leon
    Email: bleon5090@monroecollege.edu

    Steven Jackson
    Email: sjackson3071@monroecollege.edu

    Debate Club

    The Monroe College debate club prepares students to compete in trial simulations and formal debates. Members learn how to make strong arguments, conduct a trial and understand what really goes in a court room. 
    Club Meetings: Thursdays, 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm in King Hall 203

    For additional information, please email debateclub@monroecollege.edu or contact the advisor

    Suzette Seepersad, Advisor 
    sseepersad@monroecollege.edu

    Jayson Dominguez, President
    Email: jdominguez4078@monroecollege.edu

    Kellyann Stietzel, Vice President
    Email: kstietzel9050@monroecollege.edu

    Go Make a Difference (Go MAD)

    Go Make a Difference is a group of motivated students who have made a commitment to utilize their skills, knowledge and talent to make a positive difference in the community.

    Club meetings: Thursdays at 2:30 pm in King Hall 223

    For additional information, contact the advisor or any of the officers listed below:  

    Joeane Birmingham, Club Advisor
    Email: jbirmingham@monroecollege.edu

    Shansear Campbell, President

    Jodi-Ann Moncrieffe-Duncan, Vice President
    Email: jduncan7484@monroecollege.edu

    Richard Rivera, Secretary

    Rishelle Manso, Assistant Secretary 

    Human Services Club

    The Human Services Club highlights the wide range of human services available to the community. The Club seeks to strengthen ties between the College community and city human services organizations in order to create pathways for meaningful projects and career opportunities for students.

    Club meetings:Tuesdays at 12:00 pm in Jerome Hall, Rm 711

    For additional information, please email humanservices@monroecollege.edu or contact the advisor or any of the officers listed below:  

    Pamela A. Jimenez
    Club Advisor
    Email: pjimenez@monroecollege.edu

    Edwin Guadalupe, President
    Markus Jamison, Vice President
    Rishelle Gordon Manso, Secretary 

    Information Technology Student Association Club (ITSA)

    The ITSA Club will promote community among computer enthusiasts at Monroe College by:

    • providing a forum for socialization
    • providing networking opportunities for students
    • visiting computer shows and computer-related events
    • hosting interesting speakers
    • serving the community by offering volunteer services to local businesses
    • providing a vehicle by which donations may be received and properly distributed
    • offering student-led workshops to non-information technology major student

    Club Meetings: Thursdays 12:00 pm-1:00 pm in King Hall, Rm 423

    For additional information, email itsabx@monroecollege.edu or contact the club advisor or any of the officers listed below:

    Taoufik Ennoure, Club Advisor
    tennoure@monroecollege.edu

    Lindsey Pounder, President
    Email:lpounder5368@monroecollege.edu  

    Cheneise Carey, Vice President
    Email:ccarey0797@monroecollege.edu

    Onel Harrison, Event Coordinator
    Email: oharrison3412@monroecollege.edu  

    Ladies Empowered by Purpose (LEP)

    LEP meets once a week to talk about various topics that pertain to women of all ages, backgrounds, and ethnicities. The ladies focus primarily on professionalism and self-development. Some of the discussion topics include, salary negotiation, professional skills, resume and cover letters and, interview skills.

    Club Meetings: Thursdays, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm in King Hall 211.

    For additional information, please email lepclub@monroecollege.edu or contact the advisor.
    Sandy Curtis, Advisor
    scurtis@monroecollege.edu

    Monroe College Music Club - MC2

    The Monroe College Music Club - MC2 combines singing, musical and artistic expression to create community. The Club helps its members evolve into confident and charismatic live performers. Singers of all levels are welcome to audition.

    MC2 enhances the Monroe College community by performing one concert per semester that showcases diverse music selections and singing styles. The ensemble has also performed at the Monroe College graduation.

    Club Meetings: Tuesdays and Thursdays at 12:20pm in King Hall, Rm 320

    For additional information, please email a club advisor or officer: 

    Jamar Morris
    Club Advisor
    Email: jmorris@monroecollege.edu

    Janelle Jones
    Club Advisor
    Email: jjones@monroecollege.edu

    Amber Torres, President
    Ashley Worrell, Secretary

    Monroe College Student Nurses Association

    The mission of the Monroe College Student Nurses Association is to provide a networking and support system for all nursing students and to also provide an opportunity to develop their leadership skills.

    Club Meetings: Mondays, 12:30 pm in West Hall, Rm 404

    Rondine Douglas, Club Advisor
    rdouglas@monroecollege.edu

    Jacqueline Ross, President
    Email: jross1059@monroecollege.edu

    Ariana Olivo, Vice President
    Email:aolivo9778@monroecollege.edu   

    Lilia Rodriguez, Events Planner
    Email: lrodriguez0174@monroecollege.edu

    Jerlenny Perez, Secretary
    Email: jperez0713@monroecollege.edu

    Monroe Dance Company

    The Monroe Dance Company explores how the art of dance fosters leadership skills, self-confidence, body coordination, focus and teamwork. By giving aspiring dancers the opportunity to explore the art of dance through various dance styles, techniques and instructors, the Monroe Dance Company seeks to create an atmosphere of cultural exchange and sharing.

    Rehearsals: Mondays and Wednesdays from 2:00pm-3:00pm in West Hall (Second Floor)

    For additional information, please email the club advisor or an officer:

    Lyne Dallemand, Club Advisor
    Lyne_luvdance@yahoo.com

    Jasmine Parra
    President
    Email: jparra7635@monroecollege.edu

    National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS)

    NSLS was founded to help individuals discover and achieve their aspirations, and to help students create a community where motivated and goal-oriented individuals can come together to help one another succeed. The Society also serves as a powerful force for good in the greater community by encouraging and organizing action to improve the world.

    For additional information, please contact a club advisor or officer: 

    Edith Banks, Advisor
    Email: ebanks@monroecollege.edu

    Joeane Birmingham, Co-Advisor
    jbirmingham@monroecollege.edu

    Vashti Berrios, Secondary Advisor 
    Email: vbipat585@gmail.com

    Semoneika Lattibeaudiere, President
    Riya Raju, Vice President
    Jennifer Rodriguez, SNT Coordinator
    Cheneise Carey, Community Service Chair and Social Events Chair

    The Pre-Law Club

    The mission of the Pre-Law Club is: to expose students to programs in the legal field; encourage student organization; help bolster study skills and GPA; prepare students for law school entry; encourage volunteerism; offer field experience in criminal justice and the law; and to host educational criminal justice and pre-law events.

    Club Meetings: Tuesdays from noon-1pm in Jerome Hall, Rm 602

    For additional information, contact the club advisor or an officer: 

    Prof. Diana Dykes
    Faculty Advisor
    Email: ddykes@monroecollege.edu

    Keidy Ramirez, President
    Email: kramirez1814@monroecollege.edu

    Lisa Geraldino, Vice President
    Email: lgeraldino7928@monroecollege.edu 

    Crystal Jones, Secretary
    Email: cjones7535@monroecollege.edu 

    “Justice can be delayed but never denied.”

    Rainbow Alliance

    Through meetings and discussions, the Rainbow Alliance creates a supportive college community that is free of discrimination and harassment based on gender and sexual identity. Although the topics of discussion is generated by the groups, some of the topics of discussion in the past included: Coming out, Family, Dating, How to deal with homophobia, Study tips, Organizing safe spaces, How to respond to sexism. The group is open to all Monroe students.

    Club Meetings: Thursdays, 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm in King Hall 425.  
    For additional information, please email rainbowalliance@monroecollege.edu or contact the advisor.

    James Young, Advisor
    jyoung@monroecollege.edu

    Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA)

    The Monroe Chapter of the PCMA familiarizes its members with the basic aspects of the meetings and conventions industry by providing educational and networking opportunities.

    Membership is open to all hospitality, tourism, meeting or convention management (major, minor or graduate) students who attend Monroe College full-time and are in good standing. Applications for membership are available at the national PCMA website. All Monroe chapter members must be members of national PCMA and shall subscribe to and be bound by the laws and the ethical and professional standards of Monroe College as well as the PCMA.

    Club Meetings: Tuesdays from 12:15pm-12:55pm (day club) and 5:45pm-6:15pm (night club) in Jerome Hall, Rm 703

    For additional information, email PCMABX@monroecollege.edu or contact the club advisor or an officer: 

    St. Clair Thompson, Advisor
    Email: stthompson@monroecollege.edu

    Reynold Echavarria, Vice President
    Email: rechavarria6116@monroecollege.edu

    Annette Jones, Secretary
    Email: ajones5822@monroecollege.edu

    Lisbeth Perez Diaz, PCMA Headquarters’ Representative
    Email: lperezdiaz3678@monroecollege.edu

    Tareema King, Program Chair
    Tking7737@monroecollege.edu

    Student Veterans of America

    Through education, advocacy and service, Student Veterans of America is dedicated to:

    • assisting veterans in their successful transition to academia
    • developing programs and policies on campuses to aid in the reintegration of veterans
    • advocating on behalf of student veterans at the state and national level

    Club Meetings: Tuesdays at noon in King Hall, Rm 211

    For additional information, email sva@monroecollege.edu or contact the advisor or an officer:

    Allen Hansen, Advisor
    Email: ahansen@monroecollege.edu

    Jennifer Roldan, President
    Juan Crispin, Vice President
    Luis Ortiz, Secretary
    Lindsey Pounder, Treasurer

    The Writers Block Club

    Color me Poet gives students the opportunity to convey ideas, thoughts and feelings through verbal expression. As students face challenges in their lives, Color me Poet nurtures creative, intellectual and social growth.

    Color me Poet encourages, motivates and provides the opportunity for literary growth, public performance and self-expression. In so doing, it also enriches the campus and college experience. Open mics and poetry slam events are regularly scheduled each semester.

    Membership in Color me Poet is open to all Monroe College students.

    Club meetings: Tuesdays at noon in King Hall, Rm 225

    For more information, email Poetrybx@monroecollege.edu.

    Bruce Wigutow, Advisor
    bwigutow@monroecollege.edu

    Neisha Simon, Vice President
    Ashley Worrell, Secretary 

    Show Stopping Steppers

    Show Stopping Steppers, also known as ‘Triple S,’ is a step-dance team open to all students at Monroe College. Step dancing is a form of dance which utilizes the dancer’s entire body as an instrument to produce complex rhythms, beats and sounds. This is done through a mixture of footsteps, spoken word and hand claps. Triple S provides entertainment to the Monroe community while allowing members to express their energy and creativity through step.

    Rehearsals: Tuesdays and Thursdays from 5:00pm – 7:00pm in West Hall (second floor)

    Yolanda Dublin, Club Advisor 
    ydublin@monroecollege.edu

    Ruben Gomez, President
    Shanae Newman, Vice President
    Melissa Garcia, Secretary